Knitting and sewing on the way to work…….. work life balance?

This is my inspiration for the mini pillows

This is my inspiration for the mini pillows

I’d been wondering about this. Would it improve my work life balance if I went  back to doing craft on the train to and from work? I used to always knit  on the train. Obsessively, actually.  In fact many a jumper was cast on or off on a red rattler.

When you stop to think about it there’s a lot to be said for it. I mean, it would stop me from reviewing work files and it would keep my head out of the wretched ‘technology’. And even better, I’d get so much done! I started to get really excited so got up early this morning to get an early train (I wanted a window seat so I could dominate, if you get my drift).

My hand bag

My hand bag

The man in front of me on the train...note, I got a window seat!

The man in front of me on the train…note, I got a window seat!

Just to authenticate the blog..........

Just to authenticate the post..

Sandwich bag with sewing not sandwich

Sandwich bag with sewing not sandwich

So I pulled out my mini pillows, all pinned and needle threaded and got stuck into it. imageimageimage
Well the trip into the city went quite well. And  I have to say, it was a nice change to sew, sort of therapeutic, a nice break from exercising the brain. But………..

Return journey

Return journey

the trip home was a disaster. I fell asleep with the needle still poised in the middle of an over stitch and woke up just as the train was leaving my stop!!!! I got such a shock when I realised that I jumped up from my seat to move towards the door and in my haste dropped the mini pillows onto the floor and under the seat in front of me. On a crowded peak hour train I had to ‘excuse me’, ‘excuse me’ as I crawled around on the floor to gather them up. My cotton rolled away never to be seen again and heaven only knows what happened to the needle!

But I’m not licked……I’ll have another go tomorrow! Not sold on the work life balance aspect of the exercise.

Leave a Reply

