An addict

Yes, I came back. Sure enough, 4 hours sleep last night, an horrendously busy day at work, full on evening of domestics and one pick up and there I am hunched over the machine again. Back for more. Can you believe that?

Anyway, I had a very fruitful evening. First of 4 cushions for my daughter and I have to say, I’m thrilled! And so is she. This is definitely one for Pillow Parlance. And now I know why the fabric cost a bomb……..it sewed like a dream.

20131021-230952.jpg

But on a more serious note, I really wanted to blog about my lack of sleep last night. I think it was the heat. For those of you who don’t know (ie who don’t live in Australia) NSW has been declared a state of emergency due to bush fires and we are staring down the gun barrel at a catastrophic mega fire in the Blue Mountains if weather conditions don’t improve.

It is both frightening and depressing – even for those of us who are not in the grip of the disaster. As a city dweller I can assure you that there is an aura about Sydney CBD that is disturbing at best and ominous at worst. From our 28th floor office we look out over a city that is shrouded in smoke. But there is an orange tinge about the sky that comes from the scorching sun on what would otherwise be a bright Summer’s day. Our clothes our hair and our offices smell of smoke. It is surreal. Our lives go on while our country goes up in flames.

Spare a thought for our fire fighters

20131021-232343.jpg

20131021-232355.jpg

20131021-232411.jpg

20131021-232905.jpg

20131021-232925.jpg

Leave a Reply

