Me, controlling?

Absolutely not! I just know better than my kids!

Anyway, my 17 year old daughter wanted to do up her room- her way.

“Sure, love. No problem. Agreed. Get rid of that old (beautiful, intricate and classic) quilt (that I spent hours on). Of course I don’t mind. So what are you thinking? Hmmmmm. Ok. That sounds interesting. Yes I think I get it. Manhattan warehouse with a country feel and an industrial theme. Of course I know what you mean….sounds fabulous (!!!!!!) You don’t think we should just……………..” Her face said it all.

Well, aside from the fact that I couldn’t see how this could cost anything less than a few hundred thousand dollars, I just didn’t get it. And frankly, I wasn’t sure she did either. I mean, this was way beyond eclectic! It sounded like an expensive disaster. And I wouldn’t roll over. In my inimitable and subtle fashion, I prodded and poked her to get her to see reason (mine, that is) until I was overcome with frustration at not being in control. So I caved and committed to being the brawn rather than the brains. And guess what?I love it! And she did the whole thing for practically nothing!
finished product

this cost $10 on ebay....she painted it black

the ladder  cost $10 on ebay….she painted it black

we bought it from Reverse Garbage.......I painted it red and my daughter painted it black

we bought it from Reverse Garbage…….I painted it red  (remember?) and my daughter painted it black

Pillow Parlance cushions

knitted rug- $15 from a garage sale

the most expensive item- made by me and lined with polar fleece for warmth

the linen quilt- the most expensive item- made by me and lined with polar fleece for warmth

metal vase $5 from Vinnies

Pillow Parlance cushion

Now don’t you think she’s clever? I am really impressed and have now climbed back into my box!

2 thoughts on “Me, controlling?

Leave a Reply

