Leatherette? No way……….

This will never work. This will NEVER work! But in her inimitable fashion she wouldn’t take no for an answer. She was NOT leaving Spotlight without the leatherette and a promise that I would make her this top, without a pattern, before the end of the week. So my 14 year old daughter and I left the shops with the groceries, the leatherette and a thumping headache……….mine. 20150222-220924.jpg I’m sure I’ve told you before that I’m a rules person (sadly…I’m not proud of the fact….I seriously think I missed my calling…into the armed forces). So to do anything without instructions, particularly sewing, is a bit threatening. Throw in ‘black’, busy mother, house guest, big Etsy order due out tomorrow and this strange fabric that is the antithesis of more familiar natural fibres and you will get my ‘headache’. On the other side of the coin, I’ve been watching the Great British Sewing Bee. I absolutely love that show. I cannot tell you how much I love it. I think it is the most inspirational experience I’ve had in ages. Anyway, I love the way they experiment with patterns and fabrics and all within a capped timeframe. So that’s how I approached the black top…………I will make this top between the driving lesson and the dinner. Re the driving lesson…….another cause of headache. My daughter is quite good behind the wheel. But it’s no walk in the park. 20150222-224941.jpg back to the top. I did it! It’s definitely not garment of the week calibre but I love it. It is truly fabulous because it’s sort of so weird and exactly what she wanted. 20150222-225106.jpg Yet another thing I’ve learnt from my daughter. And speaking of ‘out there’, this was my attempt…. 20150222-230426.jpg I wanted a skirt that was a bit different, bright, casual and quick to make. This fabric sewed like a dream. It is an open weave cotton from Tessuti. The pattern is box pleats (or inverted pleats? not sure what you call them) front and back with a side zipper. 20150222-230816.jpg 20150222-230833.jpg And the back drop is Warners Bay on beautiful Lake Macquarie which is close to Newcastle, about 2 hours north of Sydney. We took our guest up there for the day. 20150222-231123.jpg 20150222-231149.jpg Have a lovely week!!!

3 thoughts on “Leatherette? No way……….

  1. Daughter must have been over the moon with her top, no doubt she has plenty of requests for your haute couture skills, where did you get your skirt fabric from …I NEED SOME!!!!!! Loving your photos x

Leave a Reply

