This is a festival top……..

or so I am told. And after googling ‘festival’ gear, I get it.

20150305-080233.jpg

But I don’t think cream satin is truly ‘festival’ per se. I am thinking a print with a festival feel would be more on target. Still, cream satin is lovely. This is a very quick make that’s ideal for a daughter’s ‘I’ve got nothing to wear tomorrow night ‘ melt down. The pattern is simply the top half of the formal dress pattern.

To convert to a top I simply added a band that ties at the back.

20150305-081010.jpg
I also crossed the front slightly to make it less revealing and easier to wear. The satin was lovely to work with….a slight stretch. But in the cold light of day I realised that it has snagged in several places from my over zealous hand sewing while watching the semi final of the Great British Sewing Bee. I have also put the iron straight through the fabric in a section that will never be seen.

Is ‘festival’ a look known to you all in the Northern Hemisphere?

20150305-082604.jpg

Leave a Reply

