The Great British Sewing Bee Christmas dress

Apparently to be made in half a day (way beyond me)

Apparently to be made in half a day (way beyond me)

Luckily we have have a spare bed for sleepovers

This is made out of a very low quality fabric.......with little body and not much guts......frays at the sight of a needle and perishes at the first shot of steam from the iron

This is made out of a very low quality fabric…….with little body and not much guts……frays at the sight of a needle and perishes at the first shot of steam from the iron

Did you watch the Great British Sewing Bee? I LOVE that show! I record it and then play bits of it over and over. I just find it so inspirational. Well, this is the stepping out dress. It is called the stepping out dress because ‘ladies’ in the 50s would make it in the morning and step out in it for lunch!

Well when I saw this on the Sewing Bee, I fell in love with it. I couldn’t stop thinking about it but thought it would be too hard to wear….it is all one piece. It takes 4 meters of fabric so all things considered I decided to make a toille first.

I wore the dress last night when we had the cousins over for dinner and I loved it. It was just beautiful, on. It will need a few alterations to fit properly but overall, a very feminine , comfortable a easy wear dress. Tessuti has a sale on and today is a public holiday in Sydney so I am going to make it up in a decent fabric.

Incidentally, we had a great night with the cousins but it knocked the stuffing out of us all!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Great British Sewing Bee Christmas dress

  1. I love the Sewing Bee. I really enjoy the middle ‘transformation’ challenge. I also love how friendly and helpful all the contestants are to each other! Your dress is beautiful. Good job!

Leave a Reply

