white linen holiday dress

 

DSC00076I found a pattern in my stash for this dress. Its not a style I would usually be drawn to but given that I am off to Nelson Bay next week, I thought it would be a very easy wear………also couldn’t wait to cut into the white linen!

DSC00074

If you can see the pattern clearly you’ll note that the dress is actually quite straight/fitted around the middle. It looks as though it is cut on the bias but it actually isn’t. It is cut on the straight grain. So when I first attempted this style (yesterday) I was put off by this. I found it quite restrictive (tight!!!!!) and unflattering. So in my second attempt, ie the white linen, I added an inverted pleat under the bust. For me, that is EXTREMELY innovative. I am a rule follower. But it worked and I love the dress.

DSC00068

the drawstring ties at the back. note the inverted pleat in the front.

DSC00070

DSC00071

I thought you might also be interested in some photos I took of Manly Beach. Just so you know, I got a camera for Christmas and I haven’t quite sorted it. I’m not sure about the photos. At this stage I prefer the iPad. DSC00060DSC00065DSC00063

I need to stick at it for a while so apologies if the images are not great.

 

 

2 thoughts on “white linen holiday dress

Leave a Reply

