Good old muslin!

I love muslin! I wish I still needed it for baby wraps because when I had babies you couldn’t  buy printed muslin. For memory, all you could get was pink and blue. And I just love what is around today.

I guess newborns are swaddled in the Northern Hemisphere too are they? They are here. But you see it’s just so humid in Summer in Australia that the babies need to be wrapped in fabric that breathes or they will over heat.

I too overheat  when swaddled!!!! Hence my love of muslin.

DSC00334

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 9.37.02 pm

This pattern is an oldie but a goodie. I’ve made it before, below, also in a muslin and I have lived in it

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 9.49.36 pm.png

But this time I opted for ‘no elastic’ in the sleeves. And I won’t make a skirt to match.

DSC00337DSC00333

The other variation is in the lining. This time I lined it in muslin. Overall I am really pleased with this top because it’s a cool, easy wear garment.

DSC00335

My next thing……animals.

Although I am really happy for her I am sad to say that my daughter is off to the country this week to go to uni and it has been a week of farewells and partying. Because she is going to study veterinary science, the theme of the celebrations has been animals. Now I don’t want you to think that I think this is in any way clever or artistic but she did get a kick out of this cake.

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 10.08.36 pm.png

And….she loved these boxers.

DSC00321

I am very proud of her. She is hard working and very positive and deserves every success. But I will miss her terribly.

On a brighter note and back to sewing, I am now truly  a self confessed vintage fashion convert! You may remember this dress I made a little while back……

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 10.18.27 pm.png

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 10.18.06 pm.png

 

I absolutely loved this dress….and in fact I absolutely adore vintage fashion (40’s, 50’s & 60’s) but ‘fitting’ is not my forte and when I look at these patterns with the tiny little corseted waists I struggle to to make the mental extrapolation to make it wearable. I mean, they just don’t look like they fit real people.

Anyway, I wore this dress to work last week……..the whole 4 meters of it and I felt so good in it.  I loved the femininity of it. And in all modesty, I have never ever had so many compliments about a dress – any dress. I seriously have not. It got me to thinking that these beautiful vintage styles have virtues that go way beyond being figure flattering. They are simply beautiful styles. And that is enough.

Enjoy your week!

Leave a Reply

