Sandra Betzina and Deepak Chopra on the train

image

What do Deepak Chopra and Sandra Betzina have in common? A lot more than you’d think.

I realised this on the train.

You see, I’m trying to wean myself off technology. Not because I hate it. I don’t. I love it. But I hate that I love it because I think it steals me away from life. Sure. It connects me to the world. And I love that. I am inspired and stimulated. But too much stimulation is exhausting and sometimes I feel like I am living my life on speed.

So I’ve decided to ration my  phone time. The deal is, I can go for broke while I’m waiting for the bus, but it’s all over red rover once the bus arrives. I have promised myself that for  the whole of the bus and train trip, I will read………from something that is written on paper. ZERO PHONE for the whole trip!  Even if I don’t get a seat, I cannot use my phone……..(not even as a torch  should the lights go out in the tunnel)

And I feel  like a new woman! I really do! 

IMG_1236.jpg

I’ve been reading Threads- the magazine – that’s my ‘something written on paper’. I am lucky enough to have scored a whole set of mags that span several years and I am just loving them.

Back to Deepak and Sandra.

On day 1 of the weaning myself off technology challenge, I got to the bus stop, pulled out my phone (hoping the bus would be late) and lo and behold if there wasn’t a Deepak Chopra article staring me in the face. What a stroke of luck!  And  you wouldn’t believe it,  the article was How to escape inner turmoil- you can read it here . Perfect timing

The general gist of the article is that mental calm and balance is our essential state and that the agitated mind naturally seeks to return to the calm state. We just have to help it along and  according to Chopra, one way to do this is to,

Limit your exposure to the 24-7 news cycle on TV and the Internet. There is no need to keep fueling the stress response.

 

images.jpg

Right.

So I’m on to something.

Good bye phone.

That simple.

Bring on the bus, the train and the  Threads magazine.

And then I read it! By Sandra Betzina and so beautifully said…………

Stop rushing, enjoy the process, use sewing for relaxation, rather than something you have to do.

image

And I was completely taken aback. This really resonated with me. Here I was sitting on the train, exhausted, trying to relax but struggling to even hold the magazine because my hands were so sore from the previous week’s sew-athon! And it struck me that I do not take the time to enjoy the process. I rush from garment to garment, multi tasking between machining, fitting, mending, darning, cutting out, hand sewing  etc etc etc etc etc…………the list is endless. And most of the time I’m doing it with a piece of technology at the ready so I can mentally start on the next project! It makes me tired just thinking about it. I totally over commit and sewing has become a chore.

To be fair, it has been an unusually  big sewing week . They’re not all like that. But I think there is a lot to be said for practising mindfulness while sewing and I am going to give it a shot. And I’m excited by the prospect of slowing it all down, taking more care and banishing deadlines.  I am going to treat sewing with more respect and focus on each step in the process as it unfolds. I will endeavour to enjoy the experience as much as the garment…..

………..after I’ve finished the 2 dresses, 3 jackets and 2 tops that I am making to take away with me in a couple of  weeks!!

3 thoughts on “Sandra Betzina and Deepak Chopra on the train

  1. It sounds as if Deepak & Sandra have taken you on as a WIP so take heed LOL, I’m also on a self imposed tech detox and you know what … I do feel better for it, keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

