Knitting with rags- London inspiration

IMG_1663

I have so much to say about our London/Shanghai fabric crawl……..too much, really ..not sure where to start. So I’ll start with this…knitting with rags. Well, not exactly rags, but the guts  is certainly fabric that is torn into rag strips.

This is so much fun because it is a creative exercise where the sky is the limit. Anything goes!

IMG_1668

I started with a collection of white/cream braids and cottons. I think you can probably use anything really, as long as you can knit with it. I also bought 3 meters of light cotton fabric and tore it into rags one night in my hotel room (good time girl that I am…now you see why I had to travel with a fellow fabric diva…….normal people just don’t get it). I tied the rags together and rolled them into balls.

IMG_1669

I bought size 10 mm needles, cast on about 40 stitches in rag and the rest is history! Seriously, I couldn’t wait to get back to my room each night to do a few more rows! It’s just fabulous……it looks fantastic. I think it will be a top……..just a shapeless boxy top that will look a million bucks.

Thats the plan anyway but I may need to do a bit of shaping further down the track. I’ll see.IMG_1665The only hitch that I can see is convincing the airline to let me take the needles on board the plane……..I think I could finish it between London and Sydney.

36 hours later

Well I’m home and the top’s not finished. The airline wasn’t thrilled about needles on the plane ….even though they are more like broomsticks than weapons. Never mind.

Anyway I’ll keep going and if it doesn’t work out, there is one family member who was very happy to see me, and may just be able to find a use for the balls of rags when she’s finished with the cotton. I just love her gall…casually lifted the treasure  out of my suitcase and took it for a chew!

IMG_1760.jpg

 

 

2 thoughts on “Knitting with rags- London inspiration

Leave a Reply

